

The Mythopoeic Society PRESS RELEASE: August 21, 2000

2000 Mythopoeic Awards

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature Peter S. Beagle, *Tamsin*

Other Finalists:

A.S. Byatt, *Elementals* Lisa Goldstein, *Dark Cities Underground* Peg Kerr, *The Wild Swans* Yves Meynard, *The Book of Knights*

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature Franny Billingsley, *The Folk Keeper*

Other Finalists

David Almond, Skellig Tamora Pierce, "The Circle of Magic" series (Sandry's Book, Tris' Book, Daja's Book, Briar's Book) J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Cynthia Voigt, "Kingdom" series (Elske, Jackaroo, On Fortune's Wheel, The Wings of a Falcon)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies

J.R.R. Tolkien (edited by Christina Scull and Wayne G. Hammond), Roverandom

Other Finalists

Lionel Adey, C.S. Lewis: Writer, Dreamer & Mentor Joseph Pearce, Tolkien: Man and Myth J.R.R. Tolkien (edited by Wayne G. Hammond and Christina Scull), Farmer Giles of Ham

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies

Carole G. Silver, Strange and Secret Peoples: Fairies and Victorian Consciousness

Other Finalists:

Alan Lupack and Barbara Tepa Lupack, King Arthur in America Christine Poulson, The Quest for the Grail: Arthurian Legend in British Art 1840-1920 Michael Riley, Oz and Beyond: The Fantasy World of L. Frank Baum Jack Zipes, When Dreams Come True: Classical Fairy Tales and Their Tradition

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 1999 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of *The Hobbit* or *The Chronicles of Narnia*. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (1997–1999) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year's awards were announced at the banquet during Mythcon XXXI, held in Volcano, Hawaii, from August 18-20th. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

www.mythsoc.org/awards.html

Finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and book reviews are also listed in this online section. For more information about the **Mythopoeic Awards**, please contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486. E-mail: emfarrell@earthlink.net.

