

The Mythopoeic Society PRESS RELEASE: August 12, 2006



2006 Mythopoeic Award Winners

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Neil Gaiman, Anansi Boys (William Morrow)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature

Jonathan Stroud, **The Bartimaeus Trilogy**, consisting of *The Amulet of Samarkand*, *The Golem's Eye*, and *Ptolemy's Gate* (Hyperion)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Wayne G. Hammond and Christina Scull, *The Lord of the Rings: A Reader's Companion* (Houghton Mifflin, 2005)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Jennifer Schacker, National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in Nineteenth-Century England (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2003)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2005 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of *The Hobbit* or *The Chronicles of Narnia*. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2003–2005) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year's awards were announced at Mythcon XXXVII in Norman, Oklahoma, on August 6, 2006. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

www.mythsoc.org/awards.html

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the **Mythopoeic Awards**, please contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, *emfarrell@earthlink.net*.